Minutes of the meeting of the Technical Committee on Musical Acoustics 4 June, 2013 Montreal, Canada

The meeting was convened at 7:30 p.m. by Thomas Moore, the chair of the TCMU. The attendance list is attached.

The chair acknowledged Gary Scavone and thanked him for being the TCMU representatives to the TPOM. The session chairs were recognized also. It was noted that Murray Campbell was giving a plenary talk on Wednesday and everyone was encouraged to attend.

The chair announced that beginning with the next ASA meeting in San Francisco the meetings of the TCMU will be held on Thursday instead of Tuesday. This was voted on at the meeting in Kansas City and the change will be evaluated at subsequent meetings. It was noted that the change must be made by the TCMU representative at the TPOM.

The International Symposium on Musical Acoustics was announced by François Gautier. Everyone was encouraged to attend and contact him if there were questions. The scientific committee will be formed soon and he is hoping to have strong representation from North America at the meeting.

The chair announced the winners of the Best Student Paper Awards for the Kansas City Meeting. Rohan Krishnamurthy and Mert Bay were congratulated. He then announced the current students competing for the award and reminded all members of the TCMU to try to attend all sessions and then vote for their top three choices.

The locations of future meetings of the ASA through 2015 were announced. The special sessions on musical acoustics scheduled for the meeting in San Francisco were announced and it was pointed out that the deadline for abstracts is July 8. Tom Rossing has volunteered to be the committee's representative to the TPOM and will arrange a concert using funds for a technical initiative approved by the Technical Council at the meeting in Kansas City. Julius Smith will present a Hot Topics talk on musical acoustics at the meeting.

A discussion then ensued concerning proposed special sessions for the meeting in Providence in May 2014. Jim Beauchamp volunteered to organize a session on automatic musical accompaniment systems. Jim Cottingham will organize a session entitled "Where are they now?", a collection of former winners of the Best Student Paper Awards in musical acoustics. The chair agreed to send out an email to the members of the TCMU asking for other suggestions. It was suggested that Eric Diekman be asked to be the TCMU representative to the TPOM in Providence. The chair agreed to ask him.

Special sessions for the meeting in Indianapolis in October of 2014 were then discussed. Jim Beauchamp proposed a session on piano acoustics and Nick Giordano agreed to organize it. Nick Giordano suggested a session on determining the quality of musical instruments; the chair agreed to try to find someone to

organize the session. Jim Cottingham informed the committee that Uwe Hansen has proposed to the organizing committee to have Jurgen Myer do an orchestral tutorial. The committee expressed strong support for the idea.

The chair announced that the Executive Council had instituted a policy that student members will henceforth have to pay a nominal registration fee of \$50 (members) and \$90 (nonmembers). Undergraduate students will still be free. There was no discussion.

The chair announced that the 2nd ASA school was planned for the Providence meeting. There was no discussion.

Committee reports were then presented.

Medals & Awards- Jim Cottingham reported that the committee was meeting, but he could not report on the confidential discussions.

Membership- Jim Beauchamp discussed how associate members become regular members. He then described the process for nominating someone to be a Fellow of the Society. He emphasized the importance of strong letters of nomination.

ASACOS- Andy Morrison noted that the Standards Committee does not meet at international meetings. Student Council- Whitney Coyle noted that this would be her last meeting as the TCMU representative since she has been elected chair of the Student Council. She introduced her replacement, Chris Jasinski. She then invited all members to the student reception and encouraged them to meet the students in attendance. She announced that the Student Council voted on the ASA mentor award, which will be presented at the meeting in San Francisco. The Student Council will also sponsor a smart phone app competition at that meeting.

Editorial Committee- The chair presented a list of the current associate editors of journals who are serving the TCMU: JASA (Diana Deutsch, Joe Wolfe & Thom Moore), JASA-EL (Tom Rossing, Murray Campbell, Diana Deutsch & Thom Moore), Echoes (Tom Rossing), POMA (Jim Beauchamp). The editors were thanked for their service and the members of the TCMU were encouraged to continue to serve as reviewers. Tom Rossing encouraged everyone to submit short items for inclusion in Echoes. Letters to the editor, photos, and short announcements are especially encouraged.

Women in Acoustics- Judy Cottingham reported on the WIA outreach activities. There has been good response to the WIA luncheons and the committee will be asking the ASA for more support. She also noted that there are plans in place for the Wednesday Girl Guide session.

The chair then asked the members of the committee to consider submitting proposals for a technical initiative. People were especially encouraged to submit new ideas that will have an impact on the broader membership of the ASA.

Tom Rossing noted that the special session in honor of Neville Fletcher at the Kansas City meeting that was remotely joined by members in Australia was a great success. He asked the chair to reemphasize this to the Technical Council and encourage other technical committees to try similar events. While not replacing attendance at the meeting, it provided colleagues who would not have participated in the

meeting the opportunity to do so and was very rewarding. It also saved significant money and had no environmental impact.

Jim Beauchamp asked that the chair raise the issue of access to *Acta Acustica united with Acustica* by putting a line item on the membership registration form. ASA members wishing access to the journal electronically would then have access for a nominal fee. He suggested a value on the order of \$20/year.

Bob Pyle noted that there is a new website at Stanford that houses the papers of Arthur Benade.

The meeting adjourned at 7:57 p.m.

Respectfully submitted Thomas Moore Chair, TCMU

Attendees

Rolf Bader

Whitney Coyle

Andrew Acquavivo

Jim Cottingham

Judy Cottingham

Wilfried Kausel

Chris Jansinski

Marjan Rouhipour

Masanobu Miura

Masashi Yamada

Jean-François Petiot

Pauline Eveno

Vincent Freour

Rene Causse'

Nick Giordano

François Gautier

Peter Hoekje

Bob Pyle

Corinne Pyle

Anabel Cohen

Chris Waltham

Punita Singh

Murray Campbell

Patsy Campbell

Dan Russell

Andy Morrison

Jim Beauchamp

Tom Rossing